Armory Art Show 2010

March 15, 2010 § 13 Comments

Sit back, grab a drink if you can, and savor these slices of art from the Armory Show 2010, NYC.

No less than a fiesta, the Armory Show is probably the supreme one in the City in terms of scale and popularity. Among all the others that graced New York City this onset of Spring, this show features 20th and 21st century Modern and Contemporary works of art from a whopping 230 of the world’s leading art galleries.
Sprawling over two piers, a mammoth view of art such as this can take one’s breath away! On the flip side, it could also leave one overwhelmed and grappling for a foothold. Art hung on every wall, floated from the ceiling and yawned lazily along the floor. Art was everywhere. Art was the idea.

Despite the crowds, the sheer joy of the trip was discovering the latest works by the current artists of our time. Now, while you stroll through the aisles of this gallery, I get a chance to return to those piers again, mull over works I had found interesting days ago! (That, is one of the priceless gifts of photography.)

While we are in the business of appreciating art, don’t forget to tell me what you think, like, love, dislike…and more. Did any particular piece move you? Maybe it is more than one, or maybe none at all?
I will be equally glad to talk about art in general. What is your cup of tea – perhaps Conceptual or even Abstract Art? Or is this not your cuppa at all? Whatever your take, it is welcome here.
The Juicer is hungry for some food for thought.

P.S. While I tried my best to capture everything that caught my fancy, I confess that I had to relent quite a bit of my time to viewing and just loitering about, doing nothing in particular; musing over everything essential, superfluous, radical, literal, ironic..and so on. You get the idea!
To make up for what I could not present here, I have listed a few links below. They do a great job of covering for the time when Ms. Alice had tripped into a giant Art hole and had to excuse herself from her photographic duties. I am missing some key conceptual art and sculpture pieces here:
Sunfiltered on Sundance
16 Miles Of String
Gothamist

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to Armory Art Show 2010

  • Neil Reid says:

    Wow! Brilliant and beautiful! And as dear Miss Goldilocks might say, “just right!”

    I was gonna say before (but slow exhaustion got the better of me) that I so much appreciate all you see of NYC itself (the body of buildings and scene), yet personally (me to you, I mean) what I adore is your photography of the people there (anywhere). That’s what really brings your work home to me (like I like it to be).

    (Short short history. When a child I might have said, please step aside, I’m trying to take a picture here and all these people are getting in my way! Now I am just the opposite. All I hunger for are all the faces I want to love.)

    Call this preamble if you wish. No time yet to even download the full sized versions of these many photographs, but I know I’m gonna be happy. I already am!

    Years ago, a gathering of friends on a beautiful day. One man leaned into this woman, just softly said, “beautiful”. She in a glance, taking in the scene, said, “oh yes, it’s a beautiful day!” “No”, he said, “you I mean.” (Granted, said in teasing some!) But maybe I’ll borrow his slight of hand, say beautiful, and I mean your eye to see as you see! Thanks most sincere.

    This show sounds as good as the best of fine meals! I’ll be back and glad to comment too. I love most anything modern and abstract. The Whitney is my own vision of what art can best be. Once blessed to see a small traveling exhibit that came to California here. And “in person”, transformative! Thank you Shipra for sharing this.

    • The Juicer says:

      Many many thanks Neil! For visiting and for sharing such lovely stories from your world!
      I have been away…hence the late response. Still, ever so grateful for the comments and for those who continue to visit this humble space.

  • Sean Fraser says:

    It looks like a great show especially is it represents such a large collection of 20th and 21st century Modern and Contemporary works from all over.

    With much of the contemporary works I usually have trouble in drawing the line at what is art but from your photos there seems to be a strong ‘historical ‘reference to these works and they all look good….or is it that your pics are always so good………..anyway once again you have given us a snippet of the exciting NYC life which is much appreciated

    • The Juicer says:

      Oh, it’s definitely the beauty of the artworks Sean…it was a stimulating show!
      As Neil observed, perhaps capturing the viewers in relationship to the artworks does add a little bit more drama to these images :)

  • […] Armory Art Show 2010 « Big Apple Juice […]

  • Neil Reid says:

    “Cameras Not Allowed”
    Say Shipra, have you heard “the buzz” about Marina Abramovic’s current exhibit at MoMA? In particular, her version of the Colossus of Rhodes at the entry way to her gallery? What a brilliant way to reveal our inner truths about how we feel about our bodies ourselves!

    It tickles me when someone can do so little to reveal so much. (Much the shame, but I understand, why cameras are not allowed.)

  • shirley says:

    Hi Shipra! Long time, no see. I’m so sorry for my delay. I don’t know if you accept awards, but I wanted to let you know that I’ve given you one today. Come swing by if you have a moment. I am trying my darnedest to get my website up, and continue working on my illustrations, but I’m getting delayed. Wonderful photos, Shipra. You continue to shine!

    • The Juicer says:

      Hello Shirley! So glad to see you again!
      Pls do not apologize, I myself have been away for 2 weeks now, and equally guilty!
      Thank you for the Beautiful Blogger Award- I am grateful, and humbled! And it seems that I cannot have enough of these exclamation marks! :)

  • Louis Pagan says:

    I like the layout of this post, also the birds eye view in some of the photos.

  • Wow, so many sweet pics. I really like the thumbnail layout. Nice.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Armory Art Show 2010 at Big Apple Juice.

meta

