A Snapshot Of Art Lovers

March 11, 2010 § 4 Comments

In the city’s inner circles, the past week has already been coined the NYC Art Week.
Several art shows rounded up the city, vying for its attention, imploring its senses and drowning it in a flood of art showings to wade in. One could not have welcomed spring in better spirits!

I spent my time visiting the Armory Show. The perpetrators had set up two piers with rows and rows of Modern & Contemporary Art from the 20th and 21st centuries. This behemoth of an art fair had swallowed me up in no time.

No sooner had I descended the piers confidently armed with a map and a resolve to conquer all that my eyes could survey; I had lost track of my well thought out plans. The show was vast and choking with artworks and visitors. For those who wanted to see as much as they could, covering the full show was a herculean task.
I emerged a bombarded and restless soul, wanting more time, craving more Art.

First, we take a look at the art lovers: the swarming crowds (recession, anyone?), quiet moments, tired feet and the occasional tête-à-tête. After what seemed like miles of walking and musing, visitors were plopping down on sofas and floors; resting the itchy feet that brought them here.

I overheard a number of art dealers talking about positive sales and it seemed that good tidings were in order. What have you heard about the art market recently?
Sales aside, two facts about the show are not debatable- New Yorkers are hungry for Art and the galleries have worked hard to represent it to them.

Opinions and artworks? Don’t ask just yet! I am still putting my thoughts together on that. Art, the artist and its viewer- it’s a complicated relationship :) Always hard to get all the answers, and the questions abound. Tell me, if you haven’t felt the same!

Of course, I have more images to share with you! Instead of crowding this post, I am leaving the joy and pain of Art for Part-II. Stay with me, for I will be back with more soon :)

Bookmark and Share

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to A Snapshot Of Art Lovers

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Snapshot Of Art Lovers at Big Apple Juice.

meta

