Spring Is Not Far Behind

March 4, 2010 § 14 Comments

…Or so I say soothingly, to whoever is willing to listen. After 16.9″ of snow only a few days back, it seems only fair to assume the weather will turn fickle again. And when it does, I will be back on the streets and here again with Street Art from another neighborhood.

I sneaked out to capture Midtown (in and around Bryant Park) while it was slithering under a torment of snow. A blizzard not withstanding, New Yorkers struggled and trudged on. After all, this was a weekday folks! Need I remind you what a hopeless bunch of workaholics we are!

Sure enough, there was work. But I  hope you wouldn’t miss the unmistakable sprinkling of play.

Take a peek, and grab a warm cuppa while you are at it. Winter is here. But Spring my friends, is not far behind.


Full declaration: These images are a mix of iPhone and SLR shots. And that’s because my SLR batteries died in protest, just halfway along the frigid walk. Brrr.

Bookmark and Share

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 14 Responses to Spring Is Not Far Behind

  • O let it snow, let it snow, let it snow–so long as I don’t have to make my car go, go, go!!! LOL. Love these scenes!

  • PS–that link to “Stuff White People Like”—LOL–what a blog for ‘commentary’–and 63 million hits?! LOL. Thanks for the link to another universe entirely. LOL.

  • Feanare says:

    A couple of days ago there was this musician coming straight from NYC, his plane had almost been canceled due to the weather, and he said something like “What we call a blizzard you call Saturday”. – and we all laughed even though it’s undoubtably true.
    These pictures reminded me of just that:)

    I love the umbrella shots. if possible, an object like that makes the whole scenery even more surreal. Those strange shapes with frozen water everywhere… a peculiar view.

    ~Feanare:)

    • The Juicer says:

      Ha, the theory of relativity! Tell us about your Saturdays! You’ve got me sincerely curious :)

      Thanks for the kind words regarding the pics…! Love your feedback, always!

  • Joy says:

    I love the dashes of colour that stand out against the frigid white landscape. What a way to bring colour!

    Also those umbrella shots ‘frozen in time’ are lovely. Very Bresson-ian!

    • The Juicer says:

      Glad you approve! Esp cos I was not feeling so good about it all, once my camera died. Sulked and sulked.
      Added the phone shots after much ado. Eventually the mood that counts: I rationalized. Come to think of it, phone shots work just fine for web use.

      • Joy says:

        Do you use any apps to post-process your iphone pics on the phone itself? Would appreciate any help in that dept! :)

        • The Juicer says:

          Yes I do and I am always looking for more! Here are some that I would suggest:
          PS Mobile- Photoshop
          Best Camera – by Chase Jarvis
          Hipstamatic- Mimics the original analog camera
          Vintage Red
          Polarize
          LOFI- Not a fan, but sometimes it works!

  • Brrrrrrrrrrrrrr. It’s bloody hot here in Mumbai.
    Nice snaps. And like the colours in the chairs image.

  • Sean says:

    What a great little gallery…I like the way you have done black and white and then a splash of colour………….and a new ‘cute ‘ pic of the lady herself…on cold snowy days a hot chocolate drink is the best thing you can have

    • The Juicer says:

      Thanks Sean…seems like the idea of adding a gallery is working out well and I need to thank you for the inspiration! Glad you enjoyed the snowy winter with me!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spring Is Not Far Behind at Big Apple Juice.

meta

