Street Art: Soho-LES Up Close

February 8, 2010 § 17 Comments

Fundamental Jelly made an important observation regarding the last image in my previous post.

His keen eyes noticed a famous photo by Diane Arbus embed in the Army Of One graffiti I had clicked but not captioned under the photograph.

And because of FJ, I realized that we need one more peek at some of the lovely details each one of these works embodies. Lets take a quick second look.

In this post are some close-up shots of artworks worth mulling over.

Look carefully at these little puzzles…they will tease you with embedded clues and imagery!

Army of One- By JC2. Read JC2’s message here

NYPD graffiti on a Crosby Street – By Primo

Charlie Chaplin with a can of paint. (Unidentified artist. If you have any info, please share)

Shepard Fairey’s iconic wrestler Andre, as a can of spray paint.

‘Born to Run, Style to Burn’- By Haculla. Check out the original 1981 Bruce Springsteen cover.

Clown playing music on a machine gun-  By Primo

What do you say? Did you stop and think? If you were walking by, would you stop and think?

Do these echo snippets of activism to you? They certainly do to me, and the message is mostly evident. Let me hear your observations!

Bookmark and Share

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 17 Responses to Street Art: Soho-LES Up Close

  • vidu says:

    wonderful moods captured through these graffiti. Framings are neat!

  • You’re right Juicer, these were definitely worth a second, detailed look. You should do more of these. Thanks for the shout out, FJ.

  • shirley says:

    Ooh..wow…I tell you, what a wonderful set of posts, Shipra. It’s so thought provoking, and I know that I would have stopped to ponder them. Army of One is so shocking to me to view..thank you for the link of JC2. It really helped me deal with this visually striking image that I could only imagine causes a lot of people to stop and ponder. At least I think it would have..or in NY, do you think that people are so accustomed to viewing graffiti that they just gloss over it and carry on their way? I’m wondering now.

    Thank you for pointing these photos and for the opportunity to read of other’s comments..I always think it’s sad to see graffiti on local buildings, trains, etc. There is nothing near this large of scale of graffiti in my little city, so to view such large pieces is striking.

    As always, I’m just amazed when I swing by and visit and I thank you for your kindness at my place. It’s awesome to touch base! : )

    • The Juicer says:

      Whether people gloss over it or stop to ponder is a tough question to answer! It would depend a lot on where the graffiti was put up and how arresting it is visually. If you walk through busy areas in Soho, yes, not many people would stop to look at anything except huge window dressings or the traffic on the street:) But just like advertisements and billboards, there is an expectation of getting a certain number of hits.
      As always Shirley, you are so very welcome! I am glad I was able to offer more regarding the idea behind these pieces. And you are right, some are quite shocking at first glance, until we see what they actually convey!
      Soon I will move to another borough and we’ll see how street art presents itself there! Come along with me :)

  • Sean Fraser says:

    Juicer, you really are a clever little one…great post (but is it legal…ha ha)

  • oswegan says:

    I remember that Arbus photo distinctly from some of the photography books I read in college years ago. It still freaks me out a bit. Nice images.

    • The Juicer says:

      That image can stop anyone in his/her tracks!
      In fact, your latest image (which I love!), is beautifully dark too. More passive, than the Arbus boy’s aggressive stance. Still the dark overtones in yours are equally wrenching.

  • Maggie says:

    Interesting. I get the sense that they were done all by the same artists or by artists that are a close knit group of friends.

    • The Juicer says:

      You are right, there two essential similarities in these artworks: The medium (wheatpaste) and the nature of the message. The artists have taken iconic American imagery and turned it around and shaken it up. However, they are works of different artists as you can see from the captions. Two images are from the same artist’s work – Primo.
      Maybe they do know each other..it’s an interesting thought :)

  • juliemayfeng says:

    I like this post. The street art in N.Y. is amazing and fun.
    It’s like amsterdam’s.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Street Art: Soho-LES Up Close at Big Apple Juice.

meta

