New Year Greetings

January 2, 2010 § 25 Comments

Now that all the gifts are unwrapped and the holiday lights dim away slowly with the melting snow…it’s time for me to pause and wish you, my dear readers, a very happy New Year!

Here is a string of holiday greetings for you, waiting to be unwrapped, ready to light up your screen. Dare I say, very carefully window-shopped and delivered fresh at your doorstep, straight from the streets of NYC!! :)

(Oh, and these were shot without a polarizing filter so please pardon the imperfections that inevitably come from shooting through glass windows)

I wish you well, and hope that this New Year brings you much learning and joy. That you spread your wings and give yourself in to greater discoveries, creativity and sharing.

Quite honestly, I am still experiencing the holiday hangover. Still dreaming of lighted strings of silver and gold. A new year begins…but the good old holiday season hasn’t left my side yet.

Perhaps some of my presents were left unwrapped. Or perhaps, it’s the nostalgia. Doesn’t it come knocking as and when it pleases, like old friends? And like old friends, it cannot be turned away:)

Tomorrow, I shall think of what’s to come. Take stock of what I have learned and missed. Hopefully, the New Year will mean new opportunities and new roads to travel.

This blog is now seven months, thirty-one posts and some thousand visits old. To be honest, along the way were many directions I struggled not to run in and many more that I did run in. Looking back, these actions have gained a new perspective. Top of my list of things to do this year is how to learn and experiment more, create interesting stories and share with you even better.

With certain limitations that I struggled against and certain freedoms that I let myself take, we are now, for better or worse, in this together! Ha!

So please, feel free to share your feedback, suggest ways to improve and make this space a platform you and I aspire it to be. Which were your favorite posts, and which seemed to lack that certain something and why? Where do you think the strengths or the opportunities are? Whatever comes to your mind, I would like you to know that I am eager to hear about it. To me, this blog is still in its nascent stage. Let’s open this table up for a hearty discussion! I promise to bring wine! Let it flow! :)

– The Juicer at work

[tweetmeme]

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 25 Responses to New Year Greetings

  • koko says:

    These are great photos.
    wishing you all the best in 2010 !

  • shirley says:

    Shipra..long time, no hear! Happy New Year to you. I am so amiss at visiting. I hope to do better in this brand new year. This latest post is glorious. Such beautiful shapes and textures with such a good feeling to connect them all.

    In terms of your question, I flipped back through your posts and have some definite favorites. The last shot of your San Francisco post is one of my all-time favorites as I am a California girl and that is the City for me. : ). I also just love the entire sequence of snow shots in NY recently. Especially the lamp posts shot. There’s something magical about that one.
    And the entire sequence of your first post is wonderful. You have a keen eye.
    I’m a sucker for the shots that have that graphic simplicity (like your volcano shots) and also those that a smashing with color – like your Coney Island shots (the walls, the textures and contrasts of street, people and graffiti). Hope this makes sense. Anyhoo..bravo to you for 2009. Here’s to a productive, enlightening and peaceful 2010! : ) Shirley

    • The Juicer says:

      Shirley- you are such a delight, and so giving! Many thanks for taking the time to arduously note what you liked and why. This gives me so much insight. Which is sometimes hard to get to due to a lack of objectivity I would struggle with when reviewing my own work. In short…your feedback is priceless! The sequence of images, shots of color and graphic simplicity – those phrases are going into my very special log book now:)

      This post is a first of its kind on this blog…and I am so happy to realize that it spoke to you! Thank you again Shirley, and yes, we need to resolve to keep in touch more often this year. A very happy 2010 to you too as well and all the best!

      • shirley says:

        Oh you are too kind, Shipra. It is awesome to be able to ask for feedback as you have done. The critical feedback is from what great strides are borne from. I, too, seek that kind of feedback! : ) Glad to have visited this morning! The new images are, I’ll say it again, glorious! They really are! I look forward to seeing more this year. Take good care, my friend.

  • Maggie says:

    Great holiday decoration photo group.

    • The Juicer says:

      Gracias Maggie! I like to think of this series as little Greeting cards, surreptitiously stolen from bigger yet mysteriously whole images…that could have been:)

  • Another delicious offering yet again. I like.

    As far as feedback goes, and this is purely subjective on my part, but you might consider putting up fewer pictures per post. I think it is easier to stick to a pictoral narrative when there are 4 or 5 photos versus 8 or 10. Also, I believe that self-editing skills are under-valued by most photographers. Obviously, this is more important when entering contests and such, but a useful skill nevertheless. Food for thought and thanks for sharing your world with us.

    • The Juicer says:

      Thanks for the candid words FJ. I agree with you completely. A compact post, focused on not more than 5 images will tie up a story better. Another perk is it will reduce page download time for readers, cater to short attention spans and get the idea across succinctly!

      Even though I’ve been aware of this issue (that I need to cut down the # of images per post), I’ve been failing at exercising good editing skills there. And that’s for me to work on right away! I now realize that I need to change my work flow to achieve this…the key is planning my posts better so I can devote time to editing out images (I tend to shoot a few hundred in a few hours!!).

  • Feanare says:

    Happy new year!:D

    Whenever I find myself thinking about your blog (which happens quite often, telling the truth), I always recall the “The Lee Smile” – post you wrote during Summer. Maybe because that’s one of the times you’ve dared getting real close upon your subject, both in images and text. – Or maybe it’s just me being silly… :)

    Anyway, I love the warm calmness you always bring to your words. And that’s one of the reasons I come back here. Again and again, to be impressed and inspired.

    And I thank you for the pictures, the words and the wine you just brought. It tasted delicious;)

    All the best wishes for the year to come!
    ~ Feanare

    • The Juicer says:

      Aha! That’s my favorite post too! So no, you are not being silly, haha ;-)
      It was one of those serendipitous occurrences Feanare, that are so difficult to reconstruct : meeting Mr. Lee in Chinatown, striking an unexpected conversation with him and his comfort with being photographed so up-close. He lent me a story I just did not see coming! Somehow, the experience was translated in the writing. I should go back to it and review.
      Hey, I did another protagonist story which you might have missed: Elvis And I
      Thanks for reminding me, I enjoyed doing these stories so much. I definitely need to do these more often.
      Loved sharing the words and the wine with you- cheers to a glorious New Year my friend!

  • Neil Reid says:

    Unwrapped, it is a fourth of this twenty and ten. Who else might recall Christmas afterwards? I celebrate your willing creativity! And generous to inquire, embrace your readers sense of sight about your weblog here.

    I’ll look to the wildness creek that walks on small feet in between tall winter trees. What they whisper is this…

    Shall I criticize the water how it flows, one moment to the next? I just don’t have the heart, not to mention wisdom enough by any measure not mine of my own alone. I like everything you do. I like the pictures. I like your words. I remember Linda Ronstadt, whose early work I enjoyed, then she changed, did some broadway music, and while not exactly my taste, did her willingness not then also allow her “Consciones de me Padre”, a simple surprise and delight to me. Like that I mean. (So nothing I say excludes anything!)

    Yet I can and will say two specifics, as may please. ONE I very much was surprised and liked your sense of vision set loose in places unfamiliar to you. Especially for me, your images of San Francisco. Subtle, but you showed me understandings I did not have for myself. I value that. That’s one. TWO I adore your photography of people, be it specific and close, or en masse. Mr. Lee, certainly, and also your rainy day in NYC were exceptional treats.

    But none of that is meant, do this and not that. How else would you surprise me yet again? I in whole trust your sense of sight! Simple as that.

    Technically, and has been mentioned already here – how many pictures to post in a post? Here’s a compromise suggestion. Post in fuller size the images you want to focus on the most. Then add what more you also like, but as small thumbnails linked to the larger images. Think this addresses the issue well. Me, I’d rather not loose any of your pictures, but yes, the blog post download time can be an issue for me (my problem, not yours, but if you’d like to help…).

    And I’m only making yet more work for you Shipra! Because reading your brief photo captions or stories I commonly end with only one wish – please, may I have some more? I like your writing! Me, personally, I’d only love to see it grow.

    There. How’d I do? (And in refrain, my first wish…)

    I want to love you for who you are, not for only what I think, or even like the best. You, that’s the who and how I want for you!

    • The Juicer says:

      I always take a bit longer to answer your comments. I tend to read and then reread your words over and over again. There is poetry here and camaraderie that I am quite grateful for!
      I like your suggestion regarding images, and I will try it out. With the improved gallery settings on WP, it should be easier to navigate it, and while doing so, still feel connected to the post.
      You mentioned an important denomination, it is the images of people that resound louder- whether in portraits or en masse. And to be honest, I have more fun clicking people too. I am considering this as a dominant direction for this blog.
      The vote of confidence- it means so much! Esp for someone like me who wades in self-criticism often. I am deeply grateful for the support I have from you, and other dear readers here. So thank you! And the very best to you from this side of the continent:)

      • Neil Reid says:

        Thanks Shipra! I like to write. In truth, shared commentary in conversation pleases me as much as poems do. So I’m nothing but glad for your attention in response.

        Sean has been doing partial thumbnails already for a while. Not my territory of understanding or need about the how, but if it works for you – great!

        And I’ll send you some galoshes for your self-criticism if you like! :) I understand the routine more than well enough myself! Only two remedies I know – attend your purpose and keep your intention where it belongs – outwardly. (And my finger points to me too, certainly.) My praise can in no measure eclipse your own purpose and desire in result. I trust you. That’s all you really need know of me.

        • The Juicer says:

          Will give it a try and it is only then I will actually know. That’s the only way I can make up my mind about it.

          On the other hand, what FJ noted is very true, ’cause it’s been bothering me for quite a while now, even before he mentioned. So yeah, guess what, I am going to try that out too! Heh.

          Hmm…probably it’s obvious that I like trials. A substantial part of school years spent in science labs perpetuates that, perhaps.
          Just a little bit of trivia thrown out there, for no apparent reason:)

          P.S. Remedies noted, self-training begins!

  • pcadams says:

    Beautiful, Shipra!

    Happy 2010 to you.

    Peace,

    Phil

  • seanfraser says:

    I loved Elvis and Hawaii holiday…..I think all your blogs are great …the ones I like the best have a “journalistic touch” to them …I think I love your story telling set against the backdrop of New York city.

    I think your blog engages the audience….and it’s because the posts are interesting… the readers respond to this through the comment mechanism…and you get a lot of comments.

    • The Juicer says:

      Thanks for the feedback Sean, it is much appreciated! Hmm…more story telling…I enjoy writing but don’t wield the tool often here. Something for me to go back to, as I did in my earlier posts.
      On comments- they are my touchstone! The most fun part!:) I do hope the discussions continue. While on that note, I must mention that I absolutely cherish the time and the thoughts you share with me here.

  • Wow. What a beautiful post. It’s always a pleasure to stop by and see what you are up to. I love that last pic so much. I love everything about it… the composition, the tone, the boca… so beautiful!

    Happy New Year to you my friend.

  • Indrani says:

    Stunning shots shared.
    Some of them just took my breath away.

  • vidu says:

    fantastic images!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Year Greetings at Big Apple Juice.

meta

