Coney Island Beach

December 29, 2009 § 12 Comments

When I think Coney Island, I think beach fun, burlesque and mermaid parade!! Hordes of people playing, running, talking… A carnival! Wild vibrant colors, bright lights, and sifting shapes and sounds. Being a part of that pulsating crowd would be something. And I suspect, many of you know that sensation all too well. But seriously, how many of you have lounged on the beach on a cold winter day? I was game.

Spots of people hung around, but one could sense a feeling of waiting. The kind that comes from a sleepy carnival land, anticipating a comeback.

Splashes of color remained on the walls. Left behind by the fans, only to return next year when the spring season set in. I wonder if they tell you surreptitiously wild stories too?

One block from the Subway stop, and I was at the boardwalk. Just then, for a short time, the sky changed colors. The blue waters resonated, and a light mist hung in the evening air. It was time to face a soft pink beach.

While the sun slipped in and out, I took my time to get some sand in my shoes. Chatted with the sea gulls who pretentiously ignored me. And yes, it was getting colder. But I just knew that if I hung around a few moments longer, the sunset would not fail me. A burnt orange sky could warm up any cold winter evening couldn’t it?

While I enjoyed this beautifully serene evening, I must admit I kept wondering when I could get back here to capture the madness that interludes this calm silence. You probably know I will be back here pronto, come next spring.

Until then, our evening together draws to an end.

Would you like me to walk you back to the subway stop? Yes, I thought you might :)

The Juicer at work

Bookmark and Share

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to Coney Island Beach

  • Great capture of the place. My uncle has told us stories of going there as a child but I haven’t ever been in real life.

    • The Juicer says:

      Thanks Julie- I wonder what kind of stories he shared! Were they from some time ago…or recent ones?
      Wait till spring comes and the place is alive and kicking like an intoxicated beast! I will bring you some more images:)

  • Maggie says:

    Great choice of time of day to photograph. It really adds the subject matter.

    • The Juicer says:

      Thank you Maggie… the changing light at dusk is always amazing!
      I keep thinking how misty it must be in the winter mornings here…must take a walk early in the day sometime.

  • Justin says:

    hey hey!

    how are ya! Want to wish u a belated merry christmas and an early happy new year! hahaha

    my net is capped so i cant look at your recent posts! well i could but that would mean waiting like 20 minutes for ya photos to load and im impatient haha

    =D

    • The Juicer says:

      A very Happy New Year to you too Justin! I am doing well, thanks. And glad you haven’t disappeared! Heh.
      I am going to try and fix this image downloading problem..compress my images next post onwards. Hoping your net resumes in the New Year!:)

  • seanfraser says:

    Hi Juicer…it’s great to see the ‘structure’ without the people..but it will be fun to go back in spring when it comes to life

    PS This is a blog from the future I’m writing to you from 2010 12:16 am..it’s still 2009 in NYC

  • Neil Reid says:

    Wonderful winter colors Shipra, a different sort of Spring or a reflection or a seed? I don’t know which. And I enjoyed the solitude, thank you for this perspective! Let nothing be missed, in the whole, even asleep, is what’s to be loved.

    And all that’s good and wise and loving for your new year!

    And Shipra I might even ask, on mind since the last ReadWritePoem prompt was based upon a photograph, if you’d permit me to recommend one of yours for another prompt in future time? The one I have in mind, is your dsc 4590, with the Coney Island name seen from below and behind. So many stories seem to want to speak. Would this be alright with you?

    All credit given of course. (And I’d love it too if this might bring more folks to see your superb photography.)
    As you wish.

    • The Juicer says:

      A Winter seed…which we know will bloom in Spring!:) And yes, solitude and cold winter air. Torn down tents (I wonder who played or danced to a tune in there), deserted yet colorful stalls from a long gone fair.

      Thanks for asking regarding using one one my images, and you are very welcome to do so Neil!

  • vidu says:

    once again great shots!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Coney Island Beach at Big Apple Juice.

meta

