A Snow Sanctuary

December 23, 2009 § 19 Comments

Brrr…it is cold and it is beautiful outside. The City got snowed in last Saturday and I thought I was not going to miss it for the world. Eventually, I did miss it considerably. I decided to step out and shoot Sunday afternoon and…! All the streets and pavements had been scooped up and wiped clean. Piles of white lay lining the grey pavements. I of all people, should have known. So yeah, I was furious with myself for the better part of the afternoon for not stepping out when it was snowing. You know that feeling?

Where is a snow starved lover to go? Shh…There is a sanctuary. A snow haven for laggards like me.

Off I went to Central Park… no matter how cliched I feared the views would be, how touristy I dreaded it might get or how well I knew that I would miss walking the streets. You know what? I have been a good girl. I have dutifully clicked the snowiest whites, and wonderingly gazed and gazed for long in between the shots.

If it were not for the snow, winters would be a dreary course to traverse. I love the lushness of snow. Nothing else out there O! Weather God, to  suit all moods at once!

This was NYC’s first snow this winter, and I am already longing for more. So many miles to trek, so little time. I want more. If Santa is around, I certainly hope he is listening.

Until then, come, let’s play. Forget the cold.

Let it snow.


And then, just to remember the last glimpse on my way back…

The Juicer at work

Bookmark and Share

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 19 Responses to A Snow Sanctuary

  • seanfraser says:

    When I see these photos I hear music……for some reason snow gives me a feeling of warmth.

    Oh the weather outside is frightful,
    But the fire is so delightful,
    And since we’ve no place to go,
    Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!

    created by lyricist Sammy Cahn and the composer Jule Styne.
    real life memories Bruce Willis in Die Hard

    • The Juicer says:

      Oh yes…Let it snow! You are so right Sean..snow speaks in so many ways! Romantic, warm, pure white, serene, quiet, soft and snugly, fun, lonely and cold!! And we are free to take our pick:)

  • Tom Hardin says:

    Unbelievable, fantastic childs face was great, just to think I was in the Warwick hotel and did NOT get in the Central Park at all makes me want to go back even more now than ever. Great Job, but too much tequila making your delay imminent for getting out sooner. HAH
    Great Job Juicer
    Merry Christmas
    Do you bake?

    • The Juicer says:

      Tom, well actually, it was too much vodka:)
      Thanks for the nod! Glad you like the images…I haven’t shot much of snow before..realized exposure gets a bit tricky. Oh I do hope it snows again! I know exactly how you feel about not stepping out and braving the cold. The temperature was definitely degrees lower in Central Park!
      Yes I do bake, I am a go for anything to do with food, Cook, bake, eat- all are very therapeutic:)

  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Vinay and shipra chauhan, Americo. Americo said: RT @simplyvinay: A Snow Sanctuary by @shiprachauhan http://bit.ly/720KiA […]

  • grunskm says:

    I was once just like the children who appear in your photos. The ones who would rather nothing else, but to freeze to death while playing in the snow. Sometimes I wish I could run around in the snow more often. Actually I wish that all the time.

    I love these photos and I think you really captured the feeling of a snowy winter day.
    The black and white was a good choice, but I do love the warmth emitted by the small patches of colour in the photo with the bulrushes.

    • The Juicer says:

      Well hello there grunskm! A warm welcome to the Big Apple Juice!
      I grew up in India, and where I was, in the plains, I never saw snow for the longest time!:) Then there was this vacation to the hills when I was 10 or 12 years old and it was the most beautiful experience ever. I still remember.
      Isn’t it amazing how children have so much fun while us adults worry about the freezing cold and getting wet, mostly watching from the sidelines:)
      Thanks for the lovely note- I am glad you think b&w worked well! Colors stand out really well against a snowy backdrop and might have worked well too, but just like you said, I wanted to capture the feel and avoid any distractions. The color photo in the midst is an accent. I use accents often in my fashion product development projects and the idea actually came from there!:)
      Hope to see you here again next week!

  • From Hawaii to this… nice.

  • kkhphotos says:

    Great shots! We’ve gotten some snow here too but I haven’t taken many photos yet. They say there is more on the way so I guess there is still time.
    Keep warm!

  • Feanare says:

    Some of those pictures are truly stunningly alive!

    To me, to try picture New York at Wintertime inside my head is close to impossible. Not that I’ve ever been there, but the photos we often get presented are usually form every other season. Never winter, as in snow or children playing. Thank you for filling that gap in my mind’s impression of the city.

    • The Juicer says:

      How interesting Feanare! I never realized that and I am trying to run images of NYC in my head now.
      But if you say so, it must be true for you. That’s one of the most satisfying and wonderous feedback I got on this blog; forget about image quality, photography, writing…yada yada.
      I sincerely thank you for adding that special ray of sunshine on this page! And yes, the children play and adults take romantic strolls in the snowy whites…not just in the parks but against the concrete back drop too. I hope I am able to add that part of the landscape and also improve on my technique a bit the next time it snows. It will surely be dedicated to you:)

  • David says:

    Fourth from the bottom – is that Santa’s sleigh whizzing past?

    Lovely.

  • Neil Reid says:

    Shipra, Sean said it right. In snow he finds some warmth. And as I do too, in these pictures here of yours. It goes like this, the saying goes, where so ever you go, no matter how afar – one thing remains, there you are! Exactly why your photos will never be cliched. Because there you are! And it’s always been about more than film, digital or otherwise.

    It is about your eye, your mind, your heart, your feet, your fingers there!

    I love how you see, and people especially!

    May Santa give you all the snow you wish.

    (My apology for being so post-Christmas here. Despite my best, with everything all about I get a little foggy in my head sometimes. And I was even to this post before, but no tracks in the snow? I question myself. Must have been tired, busy, but with what I can’t remember now. But you know I’m never far away!)

    • The Juicer says:

      Thank you Neil! The eye…well it tires sometimes, and on other times, finds something surprisingly new in everyday life!
      Pls do not apologize, it delights me that you visit, and you are welcome whenever you please. Holidays get busy, and I hope yours were fun!

  • Mel says:

    very nice series.
    greetings from switzerland (where it is actually quite snowy…)

    • The Juicer says:

      Welcome to this space Mel and many thanks for the note! You have beautiful images of the snowy country…glad you dropped by so I could check your work too!:)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Snow Sanctuary at Big Apple Juice.

meta

