High Line Cinema

November 25, 2009 § 33 Comments

Until 1929, trains crisscrossed with street traffic on Manhattan’s west side. Right around the 10th and the 11th Avenues along the Meatpacking district, Chelsea and Hell’s Kitchen. Then, the High Line railway route was laid down…right above these streets, to help prevent frequently occurring accidents and unclog traffic jams.

More than 70 years later, and many years past the last train ran through it, the City took over this abandoned railroad and transformed it into a commendable walkway park: landscaped, spruced up and open to public access.

(Currently operating only up to 20th street, it is scheduled to snake its way into Hell’s Kitchen next year)

Lovers of urban decay were certainly not happy. This was a like a shiny new car, reproduced and regurgitated in place of the sputtering vintage they adored. On the other hand, it offers some undeniable perks to the practical local or the tourist round the block.

The High Line park not only provides you a viewing of a very interesting piece of landscape work (marrying the remains of railway tracks with tended plantation, wooden benches, chairs and more), it also opens its doors to safe public access and great views of the city’s breathtaking west side ( hard to come by down in the cobblestone streets).

Peek into the choking streets down there, people watch from a vantage point, gaze right into the setting sun on the other side. Sprawl on a lawn chair, read a book. Watch locals and tourists gazing at cityscape alike. No where else do they co-exist so blatantly.

Here we go now…some interesting moods to share with you. Shot while walking the High Line and exiting it.  This is what sums up my POV that lovely Fall afternoon:

And a few whimsical ones, that caught my wandering eye…

And if you are curious, check out more at the official High Line website.

The Juicer at work

Bookmark and Share

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 33 Responses to High Line Cinema

  • […] This post was Twitted by simplyvinay […]

  • Juicer,
    I have to say – your visual observations are getting better and better with each posting! Love these latest images! – Nat

    • The Juicer says:

      Thank you Nat! NYC is back and so am I, back on familiar urban grounds. Oddly, a trip to the nature’s bowl (Maui) sharpened my instincts for the city life! A self proclaimed assertion…but yes..I feel it!:)

  • seanfraser says:

    Hi Juicer ,
    The black and white pics really give a sense and feeling of ‘history’
    Sean

    • The Juicer says:

      History lessons, eh? A visual aid is as good as any! :)
      I chose B&W because it emphasized the tones and moods I observed during this walk. The light play seemed so much better.

  • Maggie says:

    Great use of black and white with city pictures. I really like the picture with the bridge connecting the two buildings.

    • The Juicer says:

      Bridging buildings:) The lovely architecture caught my eye.
      Thank you for the visit, again, and for the thumbs up! I love b&w, such moodiness is hard to capture in color!

  • You slay me with your talent. Every time I come to your site I actually make my wife get up and come and look. And not too much will cause me to divert my wife’s attention to my computer screen. You are mad skilled! I love the shot of the lady and the graffiti.

    • The Juicer says:

      Ah, the slaying. It tastes sweet:)
      But what is this, I did not know you had been sharing these pieces of me with your wife-y! Truly flattered. That is the ultimate form of affirmation I could expect.
      Say hi, will you, and do let her know that I admire your writing very much! Your blog lights up my screen, this side of the Atlantic:)

  • Another great series…cool as the other side of the pillow. Your commentary always adds interest. Sweet. Is the Juicer always at work??

  • Rabi says:

    B&W. I love it already. I absolutely adore the first photo. There is no particular subject in that photo, but it’s that lack of a specific subject that just makes that photo so good. Quite hard to do in my opinion. Fantastic job

    Regards,

    Rabi

    • The Juicer says:

      Thanks Rabi. I really like how you describe the first pic…and you are right.
      Apologies for the late reply..long weekend had me busy with some imperative yet pending To Dos on my list.

  • Neil Reid says:

    Mimicry, they say. Flattery, they say. (Sincere, I mean.)

    You’ve said the beauty already (like you do), so what’s left to me but repeat. As common is my wish, with you. I suppose, I hope, it means I appreciate. I do. And I just want to dance with you.

    I write about weeds. You write, as the city sees itself. Amazing me. And, yes, self complete that way I suppose. Thanks for being my eye.

    I wonder which is which. The people, the city itself. Are they the observers, the master residents here? Or is the city simply. kindly, amusing itself? Into the gaping maw!

    See how the tide rolls among the rocks. Reaches out, bridging, touching itself in confirmation, strong. Written in phrasing brick, beauty certainly, or even kindly instructs its residents towards “better history”. As a loving parent might.

    But linger, share a cup with me, see how the skies adore me too. And I see you souls, so brave, so many, so alone, but You and Me, we make this home.

    So pardon, pardon please, my mere refrain. I only attempt some echo of the beauty already in your eye, but it just seems all I have, and something I must need give in thanks.

    You have a beautiful eye. (I suspect, who you are.) Or may I just wink!

    My thanks. Your love.

    (And yep, I’m back home! Exhausted tonight. But what fine welcome you have made. I love where the buildings are low and the weeds grow high. And you Shipra, belong in that city you so well love.)

    • The Juicer says:

      Every time a post inspires you to write, it is unimaginably satisfying. Thank you Neil. Much appreciation going your way. And many more smiles.
      I am very glad to be back in NYC, heh, feeling very much at home. And I feel welcome here!:)

  • Sushmit says:

    images one and seven for me :)

  • David says:

    Shipra,

    I am very impressed with the first shot, and I like the last shot also with the great touch of the model in the upper window.

    The first shot is extra special – a classic – reminds me of Henri Cartier-Bresson’s aproach.

    • The Juicer says:

      Thank you David!
      So I googled Henri Cartier-Bresson”s images…(Very new to the industry and a lot to learn about it. Currently just busy with making images)… and I think I do get why you compare the approach of my first shot to his work…
      The fact that you made this observation is quite interesting. Our mind tends to compare everything we see with something we already know. I on the other hand am afraid every time this happens, I might get vary of photographing something that might be called similar to someone else’s work…because imitating someone else is not my intention. Has that happened to you too? And how do you deal with it?

  • David says:

    I know just what you mean – and I veer towards thinking it is an insult if someone says my stuff is like such-and-such.

    But I didn’t mean it that way with your first shot. What I meant is that you got right inside the scene, and you showed something about people and the space they occupy.

    All the best

    David

    • The Juicer says:

      Of course David..I know that…I admire your work and value your guidance much more than that! That’s why the open question on my part… I was myself wondering if my first reaction was understandable to others.
      Many thanks for confirming:) – and – for replying in more detail :)

  • David says:

    You asked how I deal with not following someone else’s style – Well it sits there constantly, including the double problem of spending useless energy trying to avoid it.

    I spend so much time shooting for Quillcards that I don’t get much time to shoot just for me – but I think the answer is to take lots and lots (and lots) of photographs. :-)

    David

    David

    • The Juicer says:

      Ha…I like that solution very much! I try not to think of ‘What is my defining style’ and all that. Block it out. Just shoot whenever I get a chance, all the time :)
      Surely you can work something out to find more time to shoot for yourself and more often? I would love to see more of your photography!

  • Vicki says:

    Scott is correct…you have some mad talent my lovely friend. You are so wonderfully oblique! Thanks for the angle of your walk in life’s window!
    Huge Hug comin your way!
    Love ya!

    • The Juicer says:

      Thanks Vicki..oblique is so very interesting:)
      Well we seem to have built a sweet blogger family here at wordpress- despite my occasional disappearances- so very grateful for the virtual hugs!! :))

  • Did I tell you how these look like stills from a movie? maybe woody allen’s manhattan, I don’t know. (I’m glad someone mentioned Henri Cartier-Bresson, the first taxi pic and the star on 18 pic had this Bressonian look to it. Oh, how we namedrop!)

    Must mention: I like how you say the tourists and residents co-exist blatantly. That line is now stuck in my head and I know I’m going to come back and ask you to elaborate :D

    • The Juicer says:

      I took sometime coming back to you on this note- so first- pls accept my apologies for that!
      Stills from a movie…I do realize that this post has a different eye to it…and I like it for what it is. But before you and David came along, I was unable to put my finger on it! Or name drop:)
      Yeah, they co-exist blatantly, and the fact that you caught that little injection of thought in this post is very heartening :)) When you are ready to ask me to elaborate..I will be ready to brandish some more words. Until then, I will keep my peace ;)

  • Damn! I adore Black and White photographs! Much enjoyed both your written and visual views, Juicer. So glad I could come and play this day in blogland.

    • The Juicer says:

      A joy to have you visit! I love b&w too, but oh not so easy as color, I feel:)
      Every time I get them just right, they double up the fun of taking and making images!:)

  • vidu says:

    very strong B&Ws and very well composed images! Impressive work!!

  • vidu says:

    when you shoot in colour and convert in B&W the grey shades come out well…but if you directly shoot in monochrome some info is lost and hence detailing is less…it is just B&W with less of grey…just a suggestion :-)

    • The Juicer says:

      Thanks for the suggestion. Although I shoot in RAW+Jpeg, I end up using Jpeg shots more than often. So you’re right, shooting in color and then converting is the best way to go!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading High Line Cinema at Big Apple Juice.

meta

