Bogota, Colombia

February 6, 2012 § 6 Comments

It is now well over a year since I visited Colombia. The memory however, remains as alive and rich as this amazing country is. Now that I’m back to blogging, a series reminiscing my last trip beyond the borders of United States seemed fitting. And here it is.

The capital of Colombia is by all means a bustling, cosmopolitan city. New developments and modern constructions abound. I chose to spend most of my time in the old city (La Candelaria), where remnants of the Spanish colonial era still exist, sprinkling over museums, universities, churches and houses.
La Candelaria is home to Museo del Oro (Gold) and Museo del Botero (the famous painter and artist), the sweeping Plaza de Bolivar and the Bogota Cathedral. The old city is where Bogota first formed its roots and I was ingratiated to see that it hasn’t become a historical relic of sorts.

Happily for me, this area of Bogota is far from a tourist trap. Locals flock to the plazas in multitudes and students and artists dot every corner and street. This was my first pit-stop in the Colombian world and I said a resounding hello.

Bogota-8

Coming up next- Part II of this post, capturing the myriad colors of Bogota and a little skit that opened my eyes.

It’s good to be back! Walk with me.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Bogota, Colombia

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bogota, Colombia at Big Apple Juice.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

