Obama Ad- Times Square

January 8, 2010 § 34 Comments

Obama Billboard By Weatherproof

A lousy sales pitch. Sneaky at best. But will it rake in the dollars?

Does that really matter?

Weatherproof Apparel has once again shown us all how dare-devil and in love with the President they are. Or have they? Surely, that is not the question.

Perhaps, President Obama needed an outerwear piece when he climbed up the Great Wall of China. Like we all do. You see, there were chances of mist up there. So you gotta weather proof things. So President Obama does what we all would do: he wears a weatherproof jacket. Then he does what we don’t do, he goes and gets himself clicked.

Mr. Stollmack comes across the picture (more likely his attention was brought to it by an equally eager employee or friend). Mr. Trollmack owns a special collection of magnifying glasses. He goes about looking for Weatherproof’s logo all over the picture like a mad man all psyched up. Viola! It is indeed the Weatherproof jacket! What is one to do?

Mr. Trollsmuck knows best. He calls Associated Press and goes:

“Well hello there you guys over there! Nice day outside, eh?”

“A wee bit cold I’d say Mr. Troll. Umm Stoll, Mr. Stoll..mack is it?” says the voice on the line.

“A wee bit? Listen up wee man, we at the Weatherproof company think you guys rock! We would like to buy the rights of a certain silly old picture you took some time ago. In fact it was really long ago, since it was taken last year!”

“Oh yes of course…that’s very nice of you sir. Erm, which picture may I ask? They are all here at my finger tips really,” says wee-man.

“The one with Obama on the Great Wall of China! You know the one? Yes, yes, that’s exactly it! Now don’t you think the President has an impeccable taste in clothing? Yeah, I thought so. Don’t you think the whole world deserves to know about it? Ha! Yes, I thought so too! Well then, it’s a deal I get it?

Very good then. Looks like we are going to be good ol’ friends wee-man. Let’s get on with it and do the good deed any self-respecting admirer of fashion would do!”

So here we go, dear New Yorkers, and the world at large. It’s that easy to stir up a controversy which in itself is an ad. Confused? Wait. You’ve also got to remember that this ad is not about selling. And remember to let the press in. Even if they refused to run this ad in their publications, they will talk about it.

Do not fear! Nowhere does the ad say that the model endorses the product. Says my lawyer. Ha, legality is really a synonym for creativity. In fact, the model has not even charged a fee! This stuff is so good my friend, he would rather do it pro bono!

This is truly an act of giving joy to all and sundry.

New Yorkers love Obama. Heck it’s a Democratic State. Rest assured they will talk about that.

People will simmer with new found respect and admiration for the President’s taste in clothes and rugged modeling skills. Yes, they will. Rest assured.

And the media, well, shh…you and I know it’s really all about the media isn’t it?

Some will even talk about crowds gawking at the said billboard, since they have nothing better to do anyway. Some will claim that every passer-by was out there clicking pictures, and offering a commentary on the spot. Only you and I know that most pedestrians just walked about their way, barely noticing the news that supposedly fumes.

Don’t believe me? See for yourself:

Weatherproof advert with Obama

Moral of the story? There are many perks to carrying a magnifying glass everywhere you go. The truth is in the details. And details, we love them here at Weatherproof.

When the White House rises and shines to another lovely day tomorrow, we will see what my secretary has to say.

Aha! Perhaps President Obama was looking to wear just another non-attention seeking piece of outerwear on his trip to the Great Wall of China. Now we will never know.

- The Juicer at work

Bookmark and Share

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 34 Responses to Obama Ad- Times Square

  • They couldn’t use Gandhi, the poor man used hand spun clothes

    • The Juicer says:

      Exactly.
      The company is getting a lot of flak from the White House, whether effective or not.

      What I am not clear about are the rights of an individual who was randomly photographed, and then his/ her picture is used for commercial purposes. In a photograph that suggests as if he or she is endorsing the product. Will someone who is a not the President be able to do anything about it at all?

  • Manjit says:

    Hey! Nice Read! Like ur style and yeah loved some of ur pics on the other posts! ;-)

  • surfaraz says:

    It will be interesting to see how Weatherproof deals with public scrutiny and pressure from white house?

    • The Juicer says:

      Weather proof has a history of similar publicity stunts. And they go into it knowing that it is short lived…for them it’s more about grabbing the news propaganda for a period.
      Remains to be seen how long this whole thing draws this out. They will probably just graciously bow and say something like, ‘Of course we don’t want to upset the President. We will take the ads down”.
      It seems, that a shot of publicity, good or bad, is good enough. Which they have succeeded with. But I do not subscribe to that idea. I think it does them more harm than good.

  • Torn Blazer says:

    Hmm I see you like lobster…I notice you are promoting our Red Lobster restaurant in Times Square and I guess you are as passionate about seafood and good times as we are

    Please call me on (800) LOBSTER (1-800-562-7837).so I can buy the rights to your blog.
    Torn Blazer
    Public Relations

    • The Juicer says:

      You got me there Torn! This post is actually dedicated to Red Lobster and good times. I appreciate your noticing my discreet efforts:)
      Anyway, you leave me no choice. Even if I protest, I know that no one will now believe me when I say I am allergic to lobsters!
      - Big Apple Juice PR Damage Control Room

  • seanfraser says:

    Hi Juicer that’s me, sean fraser is MR BLAZER…I enjoyed the post even if you don’t like lobster

  • Cat says:

    LOL…I didn’t even realize Obama was on the billboard—I was staring at the bright Red Lobster sign below it. Great capture—I love the cars (and bus) are just whizzing right by. ;)

    • The Juicer says:

      Haha! Thanks, I thought a tilt to the pic would do well.
      The only people I did see clicking were a few tourists, who can be seen clicking most Times Square billboards anyway. The locals were uninterested, except for a few that noticed me with my camera and then started conversing and expressing their displeasure at the gimmick.

  • Interesting story and photos Juicer. Yes, its really all about the media.

  • Daryl says:

    Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog about The Gates .. I have seen the documentary, its interesting….. I work in #4 Times Sq and I hadnt noticed the Members Only billboard til it got all the media coverage … seriously with all the signs, lights, wacky table/chairs and insane people in Times Sq ignoring it I am guessing that MO called the media themselves.

    • The Juicer says:

      Ha! Now there’s a thought – calling the media themselves!:) Having lapped up all this attention, Weatherproof has now announced they will take the ad down. Of course.! They weren’t looking to fight it out anyway.
      I have been following your blog for quite sometime now, and love it! So keep it coming Daryl! And many thanks for visiting :)

  • Maggie says:

    I saw this on the news. Thanks for sharing it with us. It’s a ballsy move to do this with out the president’s consent.

  • You gotta watch those sneaky advertising devils. I should know, right. And you are totally right too; it is all about the media now. They make themselves BE the news. This is why my favorite ‘personality’ is Jon Stewart. He always knows just how to knock them down a peg!

  • shirley says:

    What a post…thank you for enlightening all of us who are on the other side of the country of this monstrous ad in Times Square. Very fun to see that the passers by are unaffected..great shots, and great commentary. I’ll be back soon..and thank you for coming by for a visit! I’ve been working on “work-work” so I’ve been behind on stopping by. Hope to catch up more next week too. : )

    • The Juicer says:

      A pleasure…happy to inform..and provide my own little satiric commentary:)
      But you have to promise to never thank me again for visiting your blog, because I la-la-love it! If I could sketch (I did in early teens and it died away like all things wonderful we don’t pay attention to at first, in a race to meet worldly expectations), I’d be sitting in your living room right now!

  • J says:

    And then someone should develop an Augmented Reality iPhone app where you can make BO sprout bunny ears or ride a Cinderella carriage or become a Pirate or whatever you will. Yeah, we might as well have fun while the WH and WP slug it out.

    • The Juicer says:

      J, the forward thinker:)
      I can see that happening in UK! They are way ahead of us in the field of chewing on the govt (and the royalty) as entertainment fodder. Or are they? Hmm.

  • [...] Image searchers, may recognize the photo as originating from slightly more than "15 minutes ago" — like January, when much hay was being made over the Weatherproof billboard that featured President [...]

  • PA Amplifier says:

    leather jackets can really make you look good, they also make you feel warm and comfortable :,”

  • Photom57 says:

    The Juicer at work again ! Yes !
    One thing to add, I was and am wearing a WaterProof Brown leather jacket before O’Bama was electedIt is a very warm coat for Dallas, so I only wear it when the weather is below 35°.
    Keep up the good work and have missed you.
    Photom57

  • I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Obama Ad- Times Square at Big Apple Juice.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

